Do I Need to Report a Car Accident in Georgia?
Georgia state law requires parties to report an accident immediately to local police if there is an injury, death, or property damage greater than $500. You are also required to provide his/her name, contact information, and license and insurance information to the other parties involved in the accident, and remain at the scene of the accident until all of the above obligations are fulfilled.
It is also recommended to contact your own auto insurance and let them know you have been involved in an auto accident. After being involved in an auto accident:
- Do not make any admissions (of any kind) to the other drivers involved, and
- Remember to take pictures of all property damage to all vehicles involved
Georgia Car Insurance Laws
Georgia’s minimum liability coverage amounts a driver is required to carry are:
- $25,000 for the injury or death of one person (Another driver, a passenger, pedestrian, etc.)
- $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Please note that if you have the above-mentioned limits, it technically is not considered “full coverage,” it is only the “minimum coverage” required in Georgia. Having additional coverage, such as Uninsured Motorist Coverage, Underinsured Motorist Coverage, and Medical Payments coverage, would constitute “full coverage,” protecting you in case of any scenario.
How Do Car Accident Settlements Work?
The last thing anyone wants is to drag on an accident claim for years and years. This is why most cases settle before going to trial to avoid spending all of that time arguing over a car accident claim. A settlement is an informal wrapping up of a case for a mutually agreeable remedy, at which time the parties drop the pending lawsuit.
What is the Average Car Accident Settlement in Georgia?
This is an impossible question to answer because each case varies in the amount of damages. A minor ding of a car door, for example, will settle for less than an accident involving serious bodily injuries or death.
In order to reach a settlement, the parties and their attorneys will consider:
- All available insurance coverage and potential stacking of coverage for maximum recovery
- Car repairs and property damage
- Medical bills (past and future)
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wages from time away from work
- Any other potential damages, such as loss of intimacy in a marriage, or out-of-pocket expenses
- Any other damages or impact on a victim’s life that may or may not be quantifiable
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Georgia?
The time limit is two years from the date of the car accident to file a lawsuit or to settle the claim out of court. The limit applies even if you have pending insurance claims, so it is important to consult with an attorney early to evaluate the strength of your claim and to make sure you meet the filing deadline.
Learn More About Georgia Car Accident Settlements: Talk to a Lawyer
Most settlements cannot be changed after the fact – they are binding and final and, if you are not careful, you could end up with an insufficient amount to cover medical bills and expenses down the line or waive your claims altogether. Avoid these mishaps by speaking with one of the experienced car accident attorneys at Stein & Fox before signing anything involving your claim.
If you suffered injuries in an accident, call Stein & Fox for legal guidance. Our team is prepared to help you navigate the complex process of filing a claim against the responsible party. We do not charge fees upfront and the consultation is free. will work to help you obtain maximum recovery. Contact us today at (844) LAW-4444 or visit www.steinfox.com to begin the process.